More than 120 people joined The Royal Canadian Geographical Society’s College of Fellows at the Society’s Nov. 7, 2012, Annual General Meeting in Ottawa, during which two major awards were also presented.

The new Fellows, whose fields of expertise range from an Antarctic adventurer to a television news anchor, received their honour from S ociety president J ohn Geiger, as did J ean F ournier, winner of the Camsell M edal, and J ames B oxall, the Geographic Literacy Award winner. The S ir Christopher Ondaatje M edal for Exploration, a new award established through the generous donation of the medal’s namesake to recognize the achievements of outstanding Canadian explorers, was unveiled and will be awarded for the first time in 2013. Adrienne W hite, a University of Ottawa master’s student who was awarded the S tudentship in Northern Geography by the RCGS in 2011, presented her research on Nunavut’s Petersen Ice S helf at the meeting.

Canadian Geographic Education (CGE), meanwhile, held its Annual General Meeting from Nov. 8 to 10 and approved its strategic plan. CGE will soon sport a newly designed website and will review its bylaws, Canadian National Standards for Geography and more.