Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
INSIDE: Service-based industries Go now!

Businesses based on what can be provided along the lines of service to a customer have always had to adapt to the conditions of the times — and climate change may be the condition of our time.


Canada was a more sparsely populated place 200 years ago, before the large-scale mechanization that came to be known as the industrial revolution. Canada was also a cooler place, according to environmental clues that reveal the climate of that time. In a matter of decades, however, the world’s average temperature could rise to more than 2°C above what it was before industrialization. What will happen then to Canada and the people who live here?

You might think of the result in strictly negative terms. However, there could also be positive aspects. The diagram below reflects a range of possible impacts, risks and opportunities. Our prosperity will depend on how we anticipate and plan for the risks associated with climate change.

This Degrees of Change diagram is the work of an independent federal policy advisory agency called the National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy (NRTEE). Through its new policy research program called Climate Prosperity, the group aims to ensure that Canada is well prepared to adapt and prosper as part of the reality of climate change.

This diagram summarizes the impacts of climate change on Canada in eight distinct categories, including such subjects as water resources and communities and infrastructure. What emerges is a unique picture of what could happen as average annual global temperatures increase up to 5°C higher than they were prior to industrial times.

This diagram is not a comprehensive overview of all impacts; rather it summarizes some of the known impacts. Nor is it a firm prediction but an illustration of what researchers think is possible — and likely.



ADVERTISEMENT


On the next page:

Mitigation


Pointer disabled  Go now!
Quiz :

What change is expected in the Great Lakes as temperatures rise?

Higher water levels boosting commercial shipping
No change
Lower water levels disrupting commercial shipping

Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
Contient: Ressources hydriques Allez maintenant!

L’histoire de la Terre nous révèle que l’eau n’a jamais augmenté ou diminué, mais qu’elle s’est plutôt déplacée ou transformée.


Il y a 200 ans, le Canada était un endroit beaucoup moins peuplé, avant que ne se produise la mécanisation à grande échelle qu’on a appelé depuis la révolution industrielle. Le Canada était aussi beaucoup plus froid, si l’on se fie aux indices environnementaux qui nous révèlent le climat de l’époque. En quelques décennies seulement, les températures moyennes du globe pourraient s’élever de plus de 2 °C par rapport à ce qu’elles étaient avant l’industrialisation. Qu’adviendra-t-il du Canada dans ce cas, et de ses habitants?

On peut penser que les conséquences d’un tel changement seront purement négatives. Or, elles pourraient aussi être positives. Le diagramme ci-dessous présente une gamme des effets, des risques et des nouvelles occasions possibles. Notre prospérité dépendra de la façon dont nous entreverrons et aborderons les risques associés au changement climatique.

Le diagramme « Degrés de réchauffement » sur les hausses de températures a été produit par un organisme consultatif indépendant en matière de politiques fédérales, la Table ronde nationale sur l’environnement et l’économie (TRNEE). Par le biais de son nouveau programme de recherche en matière de politiques, Prospérité climatique, le groupe vise à faire en sorte que le Canada soit bien préparé à s’adapter et à prospérer dans un climat changeant.

Le diagramme présente les effets du changement climatique au Canada dans huit catégories différentes, notamment les ressources hydriques, les collectivités et l’infrastructure. Il en ressort une image unique de ce qui pourrait se produire si les températures moyennes du globe augmentaient d’au plus 5 °C par rapport à ce qu’elles étaient avant l’ère industrielle.

Le diagramme ne présente pas un aperçu exhaustif de tous les effets possibles. Il résume plutôt certains effets connus. Il ne constitue pas non plus un ensemble de prédictions immuables, mais affiche plutôt ce que les chercheurs estiment possible et probable.



ADVERTISEMENT


La page suivante :

Atténuation


Pointer disabled  Allez maintenant!
Quiz :

Dans quelles mesures la désertification des Prairies canadiennes risque-t-elle d'augmenter si la température de la planète s'élevait de 2°C par rapport aux moyennes pré-industrielles ?

15 pour cent
80 pour cent
50 pour cent