Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
Canadian landforms

Plate tectonics


Canada rides on one of 30 or so tectonic plates, or slabs, which underlie the earth’s continents and oceans. The plates — each tens of kilometres thick — move in different directions, possibly in response to currents of molten material below the earth’s crust. When plates collide, earthquakes and volcanic activity occur. In geological time, collisions uplift mountain chains. Canada’s west coast is situated in one of the world’s most active collision zones, where the westbound North American plate overrides the Pacific plate.
Building mountains
Mountains are often found along coastlines where continental and ocean plates meet. The collision sets off a process in which the ocean plate slides underneath the continental plate, buckling it and uplifting mountains. As the surface buckles, volcanoes force up fiery rock in fractures (faults) and wavy folds. Mountain building is measured in millions of years. Some 250 million years ago, the collision of the North American plate with Europe and Africa built up the Appalachian and Laurentian mountains. Canada’s east coast is relatively calm now, but its west coast lies on the Pacific’s earthquake-prone “ring of fire.” The North American plate began creeping westward 80 to 40 million years ago, eventually colliding with the Pacific plate. The collision compressed sedimentary rocks, thrusting up highly faulted and folded parallel chains from the Rockies to the Coast Mountains. It also created British Columbia’s interior plateau, now the eroded remnant of another ancient range. In the Yukon’s St. Elias Mountains, uplift continues, pushing up Canada’s youngest, loftiest peaks, including its highest — 5,959-metres Mount Logan.

Synopsis

Building mountains This animation illustrates the movement of the Pacific Ocean and North American Continental tectonic plates; moving arrows indicate their opposing directions, and others label the collision zone between the two plates. As the narration progresses, the animation illustrates how hot, molten rock is pushed upwards by volcanic activity, and smoke rises from the volcano. Labels also indicate parallel mountain ranges when the narration explains how they are formed.

Content (Narration)

Roughly 30 tectonic plates, each one many kilometres thick, underlie the earth’s surface.

When ocean and continental plates meet, the ocean plate slides underneath the continental, causing the surface to buckle.

Volcanic activity forces fiery rock up into these fractures and folds, forging waves of parallel mountain ranges over millions of years.

Canada’s west coast is situated in one of the world’s most active collision zones. Here, the westbound North American plate overrides the Pacific plate, creating the highly faulted and folded ranges from the Rockies to the Coast Mountains.

On the next page:

Fossils


Go now!  Go now!
Quiz :

Which is the correct order of eras from longest ago to most recent?

Precambrian, Cenozoic, Mesozoic, Paleozoic
Paleozoic, Cenozoic, Mesozoic, Precambrian
Precambrian, Paleozoic, Mesozoic, Cenozoic

Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
Canadian landforms

Tectonique des plaques


Le Canada se trouve sur une des quelque 30 plaques tectoniques, qui sont le plancher des continents et des océans. Les plaques — de dizaines de kilomètres d’épaisseur — se déplacent sans doute selon des courants de matière en fusion sous la croûte terrestre. Quand les plaques entrent en collision, il se produit tremblements de terre et éruptions volcaniques. Ce sont de telles collisions qui forment les chaînes de montagnes. La côte Ouest du Canada est située dans une zone particulièrement active, là où la plaque d’Amérique du Nord chevauche celle du Pacifique.
Formation des montagnes
Il y a souvent des montagnes le long des côtes, là où les plaques continentales et océaniques se rencontrent. La collision fait glisser la plaque océanique sous la plaque continentale, la plissant et soulevant les montagnes. Pendant que la surface renfle, les volcans remplissent de roche en fusion les fractures (failles). La formation des montagnes se mesure en millions d’années. Il y a 250 millions d’années, la collision de la plaque de l’Amérique du Nord avec celles de l’Europe et de l’Afrique a formé les Appalaches et les Laurentides. La côte Est du Canada connaît maintenant une accalmie : celle du Pacifique, par contre, se trouve sur une zone de tremblements de terre. La plaque de l’Amérique du Nord a commencé à se déplacer vers l’ouest il y a 80 à 40 millions d’années. La collision avec la plaque du Pacifique a comprimé les roches sédimentaires, formant des plissements parallèles et de nombreuses failles entre les Rocheuses et la chaîne Côtière. Elle a aussi créé le plateau Intérieur, vestige érodé d’une ancienne chaîne. Dans le massif St. Elias, au Yukon, les montagnes jeunes continuent de se soulever, même le mont Logan, 5 959 m.

Synopsis

Formation des montagnes L’animation illustre le déplacement des plaques tectoniques du Pacifique et de l’Amérique du Nord. Les flèches en mouvement indiquent les directions contraires des deux plaques et d’autres, la zone de collision entre celles-ci. Au fil de la narration, on peut voir comment la roche en fusion est poussée vers le haut par l’activité volcanique, dont témoigne la fumée qui s’élève. Pendant que le narrateur explique les phénomènes, des indications écrites s’affichent.

Contenu (Récit)
Une trentaine de plaques tectoniques, épaisses de plusieurs kilomètres chacune, reposent sur la surface de la Terre.

Lorsque les plaques océaniques et continentales se rencontrent, la première glisse sous la seconde, et provoque ainsi un renflement de la surface.

L’activité volcanique propulse la roche en fusion dans les plis et les failles, formant ainsi sur des millions d‘années, des chaînes de montagnes parallèles.

La côte Ouest du Canada se situe dans une des zones de collision les plus actives de la terre. Ici, en se déplaçant vers l’ouest, la plaque de l’Amérique du Nord se trouve à chevaucher celle du Pacifique, formant des glissements et des failles très accentués, depuis les Rocheuses jusqu’aux chaînes côtières.

La page suivante :

Fossiles


Allez maintenant!  Allez maintenant!
Quiz :

Environ quel pourcentage du sol canadien les terres arctiques recouvrent-elles?

25 %
45 %
35 %